Latest Tweets

Castleknock and Old Leighlin Draw in Thriller in Ashbourne!   03/11/2018

Leinster Junior club championship final

FT score (AET)

Castleknock 3-9 (18)

Old Leighlin 2-12 (18)

Ciara Murray was the hero for Dublin Champions Castleknock as she kicked two vital points in the dying minutes of the second period of extra time to earn her side a replay against Carlow side, Old Leighlin. Castleknock lead at halftime by 2-4 to 1-6 with Ciara Burgess and Laura Carolan both raising the green flag for the Dublin champions.

Following a pulsating second half, Castleknock clung onto a slender one point lead as time ticked away. Earlier in the second half, Rachel Sawyer had replied with a spectacular goal for Old Leighlin within minutes of Jessica Comerford’s goal for Castleknock.

Deep into injury time Old Leighlin were awarded a free. Having missed previously, Rachel Sawyer held her nerve to convert the 14m free bringing the game to extra time. Sawyer was immense for Old Leighlin, her surging runs and forward play made her an easy choice for Player of the Match.

Old Leighlin began extra time in superb fashion registering 3 points in quick succession. To their credit, Castleknock did not panic and patiently worked the ball well into scoring range which resulted in Hannah Hanlon being on target with two free kicks.

In the end it was substitute Murray who kicked the crucial two scores which insured Castleknock lived to fight another day. Great credit to the huge travelling support from both sides who created a wonderful atmosphere and gave both sets of teams the encouragement they needed.

Replay will be next Saturday with details of time and venue to be announced.

Castleknock: Amy Mahony, Orlaith Higgins, Jenny Hickey, Sinead Comerford, Nicola Fagan, Aisling Mahony, Louise Mahony, Denise Convery (C), Lauren O'Neill, Laura Carolan 1-00, Aisling O'Connor, Hannah Hanlon 0-3, Laura O’Hare 0-1, Ciara Burgess 1-1, Jessica Comerford 1-2.

Subs: Aisling O'Donnell for Comerford, Ciara Murray (0-2) for Laura O'Hare.

Old Leighlin: Nicole Hanley, Roisin Maher, Anne Roche (C), Philomena Murphy, Eleanor Meaney, Ellen Atkinson, Michelle Dermody, Muireann O'Sullivan, Caoimhe O'Neill (0-1), Rachel Sawyer (2-06), Shauna O'Neill (0-1), Niamh Forde, Aoife Roche, Aoibhinn Gilmartin (0-3), Emma Brennan (0-1)

Subs: Laura Regan for O'Sullivan, Eleanor Purcell for Meaney, Ella Meaney for Aoife Roche, Muireann O'Sullivan for C. O'Neill, Aoife Roche for S. O'Neill, Roisin Ryan for Maher.

Ref: Ciarán Groome (Offaly)