Latest Tweets

Kildare - Minor B Champions 2018!   29/04/2018

Leinster Minor B Championship Final

Kildare v Louth

Coralstown Kinnegad GFC

Sunday 29th April

Half Time: Kildare 4-07, Louth 1-02

Full Time: Kildare 6-14, Louth 2-05

Kildare produced a fine team performance at Kinnegad to secure the 2018 Leinster Minor B title for 2018.

Louth won the toss and were first on the scoreboard after 20 seconds with a goal low into the bottom left hand corner from Niamh Rice, after a fine run from the skilful Lauren Boyle. Kildare were guilty of poor decision making in the first ten minutes of the game but settled after Neasa Dooley hit two points, one from play and one from a free.

Hazel McLoughlin ran through the middle to pop one over and settle her side.

Louth’s Lauren Boyle always looked dangerous throughout the game and she secured two more points for her side. Lara Curran and Ali Cullen linked well to set Nanci Murphy up for Kildare’s first goal and after this the Lillies pressed on.

Molly Aspel and Lara Curran added to the scoreboard before Molly Dagg got her side’s second goal after Dooley and Murphy both hit the post. This was to be the start of a three goal streak for Kildare as player of the game, Aislinn Dooley, struck the net after great support play through the middle. She was unlucky not to score again when her next effort rebounded off the post but Neasa Dooley was on hand to finish into the back of the net. The hard working Lara Curran and Aislinn Dooley contributed two more scores before Kildare were reduced to fourteen players as Molly Dagg received a red card for an off the ball offence.

The half-time score was Kildare 4-07 Louth 1-02.

Kildare began the second half with a point from the throw in from the excellent Aislinn Dooley. Lauren Boyle responded with a point for Louth before their midfielder Grace Treanor was sin-binned for a high tackle.

Aislinn Dooley and Molly Aspel clocked up two more scores however Kildare had a number of scoring opportunities in this period of play that were not converted.

Claire Nugent was dragged to the ground by the Louth keeper, who was subsequently sin-binned, but she still managed to kick the ball into the net to great applause. Kildare were to have ten individual scorers on the day and needless to say the substitutions did their job when they entered the field of play.

Leah McCormack scored a goal with her first touch and Carla Ennis and Lara Curran tagged on two more points apiece to see out the game. Louth refused to give up and a fine goal from Rachel McNally and frees from Niamh Rice and Bronagh McArdle defined their spirit.

Kildare were awarded a penalty in the dying moment after Aislinn Dooley was taken down. Neasa Dooley stepped up to take but her shot ricocheted off the post to leave the score at full time: Kildare 6-14 Louth 2-05

Best for Kildare on the day was the impressive Lara Gilbert at full back, Lauren Murtagh, Lara Curran and Ali Cullen for their great support play up and down the pitch, Nanci Murphy who looked dangerous whenever she was on the ball and the highly impressive Aislinn Dooley who scored 1-03 from midfield.

Louth had stalwarts in Captain Bronagh McArdle and Lauren Boyle who unfortunately got injured in the second half.

Kildare now look forward to meeting the winners of Clare V Waterford in the All Ireland Semi Final to be played on the 30th of June.

Kildare Team: C. Farrell, C. Regan, L. Gilbert, E. Birch, L. Murtagh, C. Downey, A. Cullen, H. McLoughlin, A. Dooley, C. Nugent, L. Curran, M. Aspel, N. Dooley (C), N. Murphy, M. Dagg.

Subs: E. Kehoe for C. Regan, T. Kemmy for N. Murphy, L. McCormack for H. McLoughlin, C. Ennis for C. Nugent, J. Deay for A. Cullen

Scorers: Neasa Dooley (1-2, 1f), Hazel McLoughlin (0-1)Nanci Murphy (1-0), Molly Aspel (0-2)Lara Curran (0-4)Molly Dagg (1-0)Aislinn Dooley (1-3)Claire Nugent (1-0)Leah McCormack (1-0)Carla Ennis (0-2)

Louth Team: G. Boyle, A. Lowth, M.C. Rogers, G. McCrave, O. McEvoy, A. O’Connor, S. Matthews, R. McNally, G. Treanor, B. McArdle (C), C, Woods, L. Boyle, C. Donnelly, L. Devine, N. Rice.

Subs: H. Carolan for L. Devine, Rachel Goodwin for A. Lowth, K. Matthews for L. Boyle, L. Byrne for N. Rice.

Scorers: Niamh Rice (1-1, 1f), Lauren Boyle (0-3, 1f), Rachel McNally (1-0), Bronagh McArdle (0-1, 1f)

Referee: Barry Redmond (Wexford)

Report with thanks to Kildare LGFA Bernie Durkan.